Singapore Day 2 – The Glutton’s Bay & Merlion Park

My trip would not be complete without eating at Glutton’s Bay. Marrows and I decided to eat at Makansutra on our last night at Singapore. After USS, we headed back to the hotel, with a little shopping in between, freshened up and went to Makansutra by riding a bus. Makansutra is like Mercato here in the Philippines, according to Marrows. And from my experience at Mercato, the food stalls are always a good find! It’s not that expensive and not too mainstream, but the food taste and quality is totally worth it.

Image

 

Image

Since it was a little late to have dinner and we’re not really that hungry, we didn’t want to overkill our stomach by eating too much. We ordered one serving per item and just shared everything. Marrows was craving for Prata. And I’m just happy to try anything local. We ended up buying Beef and Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce, Curry with Roti Prata, Mee Goreng and Iced Lemon Tea (for me because I left my mineral water at the hotel).

Image

The picture above was what we had for our late dinner. Everything was so delicious! The Prata was my instant favorite! The Chicken Satay too! And the Mee Goreng! Everything was worth the late night trip! The curry was the best curry I’ve ever had in my life! As much as I’d want to finish them, I left the Mee Goreng almost halfway. I wasn’t able to finish it, not because it wasn’t that delicious, but because I’ve been overwhelmed by the authentic curry and prata combination! I secretly wished that Marrows ordered more of the prata.

Image

Image

After the last night feast, Marrows took me to the Merlion Park, which is walkable from the Makansutra. Another, tourist-y photo op. Though I’d want a picture with the Merlion in the morning, I’m thankful that it was taken during the night. There are lesser people and you’ll get a clearer, and less crowded, photo.  Image*Excuse my face*

After the Merlion photo op, we headed back to the hotel (Remember, Orchard Road) by walking! We didn’t walk by choice, if there was a bus, we’d be more than happy to take the bus instead, but since it was past midnight, we can’t afford to take a cab, and there’s no bus or trains anymore. So we ended up walking, killing our feet and mostly wanting to eat again.

Image

My Singapore trip was a bliss and at the same time it was a blur since there’s not much pictures during the trip. But, you don’t need pictures to remember, you need memories. And this trip was worth remembering. It was an adventure. A successful one, indeed. Thank you, Marrows (Yes, I know, you’ll be reading this), for being the most patient tour guide ever! We did get lost but so what? We learned how to read a map! I can’t wait till our next adventure! And thank you, Singapore, for the adventure! I’ll see you again this September! 🙂

sign1

Leave a Reply

