#WhenInDubai: Hello, DXB!

We left Manila when everybody was busy preparing their Noche Buena.It’s my first time to fly out of Manila during Christmas season, spending Christmas (PHT) cruising at almost 39,000 feet. I’d say I’m a bit bummed that I wasn’t able to greet everybody a Merry Christmas and leaving my sister alone in the house to celebrate. Our flight was scheduled to leave at 4 in the afternoon, but we arrived at NAIA Terminal 3 at around 11 in the morning. Talk about being punctual, but I’m thankful that we were actually early before checking in. NAIA Terminal 3 was a mess that day!! There are too many people waiting for check in, shouting CebuPacific personnels for delayed, or worse cancelled, flights. Seeing it first had was really hard, it was Christmas season after-all. Everybody just wanted to spend their holidays with their families.

Dubai

I thought our flight would be delayed, but, surprisingly it wasn’t. I specifically purchased this book, Stupid is Forever by Miriam Defensor-Santiago to keep me company while waiting for boarding. Who wouldn’t love her? She’s very intellectual and a fighter. She knows her laws, and practices and defends it well. At most of all, she never seems to ran out of amazing things to say. HAHAHA. Sorry for the quick detour.

Day1.5

Going back, It’s my first time to travel to Dubai (via CebuPacific), and I’d say I enjoyed the trip. The leg room was surprisingly comfortable. I’d take it from my mother who was able to board different airlines. And for a brother who always complains about leg room, he didn’t seem to have problem stretching his long legs. To my surprise, the plane flew even if most of the seats weren’t taken. I’m pretty much sure that at least 25% of the total seats were vacant. Mom did get a comfortable place to sleep and woke up without a back pain or stiff neck. It was definitely the longest 9 hours of my life. How can I survive longer flights?? Insert Europe trip.

day1.6And this beautiful flowers welcomed me to Dubai. ❤

We arrived 10 minutes later than our scheduled arrival because the air traffic was heavy. I’ve read that Dubai could overtake Heathrow as the busiest airport. (Story here.) When we alighted the plane, we had to walk for more than 10 minutes, or so, before finally arriving at the Immigration counter. The Immigration hall was really big! I’d say it scares me, I’ve heard stories that their immigration is actually strict, plus the english accent. Insert LCCT experience here. Impressive that they do iris scan for all foreign travellers. Yes, I was amazed. Hahahaha! And yes, I’m starting to actually like this place.

sign1

 

2 thoughts on “#WhenInDubai: Hello, DXB!

Leave a Reply

