Going Solo in Bangkok

Finally!!! I had to courage to go on a solo trip!!

Quick Backstory – I’ve booked a solo trip (twice!!) but ended up making lame excuses about not going. Then, there goes my good friend (Hi Kim!!!!) who braved Hoi An on her own. After hearing her travel story – I promised myself I’ll do it. Fast forward to December 2016, with no booked trip for the following year, I booked a 4-day trip to Bangkok.

When I arrived at the airport for my flight to Bangkok, I was scared. It was very unsettling, but it’s about time to face it – I’m going solo! I slept the entire flight since I didn’t get to sleep the day before since I have to be at the airport by 3AM. I woke up and the plane’s on its final descend – I found myself grinning. This is it! I can do this!

FullSizeRender 2I was proud of myself because I arrived safely from Suvarnabhumi Airport to the hostel by train. I’m really into experiencing their local transport and this got to be one of the easiest train system to navigate. The entire trip I was observing, adjusting and experiencing. I can’t count how many times I prayed for my safety when I’m walking an “unfriendly” street, crossing the street without stoplight or overpass, asking strangers for directions and everything in between. But at the end of each day, I am overwhelmed with joy.

FullSizeRender

During my last night, I was video chatting with Kim. I was smiling while narrating my story. Yes, there are tons of things to do in Bangkok, but I opted to do what I know I’ll enjoy – temple hopping, museum and food trip. I was simply enjoying my trip (regardless of all the mishaps) at my own phase. And yes, there are experiences I wanted to try, but I was half-hearted, but time will come for those things. Baby steps, baby steps.

I guess, what I wanted to say is – going solo travel is definitely scary (at first). It’s never going to be that easy. But, it’s liberating. It’s like opening a door full of possibilities. It’s empowering.

IMG_7753

So that’s my quick story of going solo in Bangkok! I’m already back in Manila, but already planning on my next solo trip. To conquering your bucket list!!!

XO.

Leave a Reply

